The Month in Books: January

In December when I made my 2017 goals, I told myself I would blog at least 2 times a month, then scribbled in the margin “but really let’s shoot for 4.” Anyone who has a blog knows that weekly posts are hard to keep up, especially if you’re working full time (or, in my case, when you’re adjusting to a part-time temp job with irregular hours). Thus, the need for grace and built-in breathers.

Because I read more books than I have time to review, I’ve decided to start a monthly roundup. My hope is that these posts will be light and quick and that the pitches will help you decide if they’re books you’d like to read. In this initial post, I’ve only included title, author, genre, page-count, and personal rating, but in the future I might write longer blurbs.

For now, enjoy my January roundup.

reading_cat


The novel I started on a whim that turned out to be so good that I stayed up until 3 to finish and then walked around a friend’s apartment just staring and feeling feels

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey (fiction, 386 pp, 5/5 stars)

The celebrity memoir that’s probably a 3.5-er when it comes to quality but made me just sentimental enough to earn it 4 stars

Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham (nonfiction, 224 pp, 4/5 stars)

The children’s book where nothing happened but the lack of action was written so exquisitely that I added all the author’s books to my to-read list

Feathers by Jacqueline Woodson (fiction, 118 pp, 3/5 stars)

The book that I kind of hated because it’s about war but the entire English department recommended it at least 3 times a year so I finally, finally read it

The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien (fiction, 233 pp, 4/5 stars) (I have enough to fill a post on this one, so stay tuned)

The sci-fi/fantasy novel I started 6 times and finished the 7th because Madeleine L’Engle is Queen and even her mediocre novels are good

Many Waters by Madeleine L’Engle (fiction, 310 pp, 3/5 stars)

The book of poetry that made me realize my Spanish skills have deteriorated past the point of no return

A la orilla azul del silencio / On the Blue Shore of Silence by Pablo Neruda (trans. by Alastair Reid) (poetry, 80 pp, 4/5 stars)

The book that I really want to blog about but which tied me into such knots that I’m not sure I’ll find the words to express how it affected me

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates (nonfiction, 152 pp, 5/5 stars)

2 thoughts on “The Month in Books: January

  1. ee says:

    I didn’t know you knew Spanish. Or did I? I can’t remember. Have you tried Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz? Poetry is hard anyway – doubly so in a foreign language.

    Anyways, I’m glad to be following your blog and I love the list. Can’t wait to hear more on The Things They Carried. I’m pretty sure I have a copy of it on my Kindle.

    Like

    • Shelby says:

      Haha, I “know” Spanish in the sense that I minored in it in college and have ~40% reading comprehension and can match the words to the subtitles pretty well when watching Jane the Virgin. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

