The Month in Books: April

the book that I agreed with in theory but was ultimately too alarmist for my tastes

9778945

The Shallows: What the Internet is Doing to Our Brains by Nicholas Carr
Nonfiction | 280 pp | ★★★☆☆

the novel that made me want to read all of Zadie Smith’s books

28390369

Swing Time by Zadie Smith
Fiction | 453 pp |★★★★☆

the book that proved that sometimes movies are better at being movies than books are at being books

27161178

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly
Nonfiction | 11 hrs (audiobook) |★★★☆☆

the YA novel I read in two days despite a totally unrealistic plot & cliché romance because sometimes you just need brain candy

18367581

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
Fiction | 599 pp |★★★★☆

the book about a high school integration that broke my heart & made me want to rage at white people Christians

20579291

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley
Fiction | 368 pp |★★★★☆

the book that the lit major in me knows is mediocre but the sentimental sap in me wants to give twelve stars because its themes of youth & enthusiasm hit me at the perfect time (& also the audiobook was f-a-n-t-a-s-t-i-c)

20910157

Yes Please by Amy Poehler
Nonfiction | 7.5 hrs (audiobook) |★★★★★

the novel about a Cameroonian immigrant family living in New York during the Great Recession that I highly recommend given today’s political climate

26025588

Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue
Fiction | 382 pp |★★★★☆

the book of essays that justified my distaste for ’50 Shades of Grey,’ made me totally reevaluate my opinion of ‘The Help,’ & taught me that Scrabble players are not to be trifled with

18813642

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay
Nonfiction | 320 pp |★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

