The “Books I Will Shove in Your Face” List

This is supposed to be a book blog, but I haven’t written a proper book review in forever. And by forever, I mean September.

kate_yikes

I have plenty of excuses (tax season, job search, book proposals, letters, falling deeply in love with both Grace & Frankie and Bates Motel), but in the end, it all comes down to effort. Book reviews are hard. They require energy, and for the past several months, all my energy has gone into cold calls, fellowship applications, and guest posts on other blogs.

But never fear! Bookworming‘s book reviews are back!

Or they will be.

As soon as I finish a book.

tina-fey-giving-herself-high-five

Seriously, though, I’m reading eleven, and as soon as I finish one, I’ll give more than a 1-sentence summary. I promise. In the meantime, here’s a list of my favorite reads, aka, the books I love to talk about and desperately need you to read.

Fiction

the ones I’m most likely to convince you to read
(well okay, except for the Russian)

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri
Certain Women by Madeleine L’Engle
A Ring of Endless Light by Madeleine L’Engle
My Name Is Asher Lev by Chaim Potok
Caucasia by Danzy Senna
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
A Mercy (& everything else) by Toni Morrison
The Invisible Circus by Jennifer Egan
“Three Girls” by Joyce Carole Oates
“A Temple of the Holy Ghost” by Flannery O’Connor
anything by Rainbow Rowell
the prologue to Cannery Row by John Steinbeck

Nonfiction

books you’re less likely to read because aPPARENTLY most people prefer fiction, but I don’t care, these are vitally important
(especially Rilke and Coates)

This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
The Diary of a Young Girl: Definitive Edition by Anne Frank
Revelation of Love by Julian of Norwich
Searching for Sunday by Rachel Held Evans
Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
She Who Is by Elizabeth A. Johnson
Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke
“The Poet” by Ralph Waldo Emerson

Poetry

poems that made me forget I don’t like poetry

“Wild Geese” by Mary Oliver
Domestic Work by Natasha Trethewey
Quilting (& everything else) by Lucille Clifton

The Holy Trinity

the kind of books I want to write
(if you read any of them, advance to GO and collect $200 my undying affection)
(also: contact me immediately so we can discuss)
(unless you didn’t like them)
(in which case you should never speak to me again)
(and probably enter witness protection)

Holy the Firm by Annie Dillard
Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard
The Writing Life by Annie Dillard

Leave a Reply

